APPALACHIAN JUVENILE COMMISSION P.O. BOX 16248 BRISTOL, VIRGINIA 24209

Phone 276-466-7808 • Fax 276-466-7820 WEB - hjdc.org

July 20, 2007

The Regular Meeting of the Appalachian Juvenile Commission was held on Friday, July 20, 2007, at 12:00 Noon at The Holiday Inn located on Linden Drive, Bristol, Virginia.

Commission members present included Wayne McClelland, Chairman – Scott County; Harold Leonard – Bristol; Kevin Downs and Doug Meade – Washington County; Mike Carter – Smyth County; Robert Hagy – Buchanan County; Donna Hutchinson – Norton; Alice Meade – Russell County; Dawn Gilbert – Wise County; Earl Griffith – Tazewell County; and Lanny Large – Dickenson County.

Staff present included Tim Dotson, Executive Director; John Ross, Director of Highlands Branch; Diane Wright, Director of Southwest Branch; Danny Johnson, Finance Director; Faye Johnson; and Mary Cross.

Commission members absent were Eric Clark – Bristol; Mike Roberts – Smyth County; and C. M. Callahan – Lee County.

Mr. McClelland called the meeting to order.

Approval of Minutes

Doug Meade moved that the Minutes of the April 20, 2007 meeting be approved as submitted. Kevin Downs seconded the motion. All members voted in favor.

Financial Report

Danny Johnson presented the Financial Report as of June 30, 2007, before final auditor adjustments. The June 30, 2007 financial results were affected positively by the receipt of additional revenue from the Secure Block Grant, CDJS Grants, non-commission secure child care days, Drug Court revenue from Frontier Health and interest income.

The financial report was approved as presented.

General Report - Southwest Branch

Diane Wright reported on the number of girls at the Girls Home, Outreach, Community Service, and pre-dispositional.

General Report - Highlands Branch

John Ross reported that the Center had an average population of twenty-eight. He also reported that Joe Sanders, Youth Specialist, received a \$50.00 bonus for protecting a youth during an altercation that occurred in the Pod he was working.

Election of Officers

Mr.Dotson opened the floor for nominations for Chairman. Kevin Downs nominated Wayne McClelland for Chairman and that nominations be closed. Mr. McClelland was elected Chairman by Acclamation.

Mr. McClelland opened the floor for nominations for Vice Chairman. Kevin Downs nominated Eric Clark for Vice Chairman and that nominations be closed. The motion was seconded. Mr. Clark was elected Vice Chairman by Acclamation.

Population Snap-Shot

Mr. Dotson distributed copies of the Population Snap-Shot as of July 13, 2007.

Additional Construction Reimbursement

Mr. Dotson reported he is in possession of a document from the Department of Juvenile Justice which states that an additional construction reimbursement in the amount of \$213.770.00 is due the Commission. Letters will be sent to the Legislators showing the funds that are still owed and asking them for assistance is procuring these funds.

Funding Formula

Mr. Dotson stated that the funding formula for FY09 is going to be revised. Surplus funds from FY07 will be reflected in the FY09 Budget presented next year.

Salary Survey

Mr. Dotson stated that the Youth Specialist staff at the Center are the lowest paid in the State. He suggested that a committee be appointed to address this problem. The committee will consist of Lanny Large, Mike Carter, Donna Hutchinson, Doug Meade, and Dawn Gilbert. Mr. Large was asked to Chair the committee.

Resignation from Commission

Mr. McClelland stated that Mr. Robert Hagy has submitted his resignation as a Commission member due to the fact that he is transferring to Washington County and, therefore, cannot represent Buchanan County on the Commission. He stated that Mr. Hagy's representation on the Commission has been an asset and everything he has done has been greatly appreciated.

There being no further business, Mr. Griffith moved that the meeting be adjourned. Mr. Large seconded the motion. All members voted in favor. The meeting adjourned at approximately 1:00 P. M.

Tim Dotson, Executive Director McClelland, Chairman