APPALACHIAN JUVENILE COMMISSION P.O. BOX 16248 BRISTOL, VIRGINIA 24209

Phone 276-466-7800 • *Fax* 276-466-7820 *WEB – hjdc.org*

January 26, 2024

The regular meeting of the Appalachian Juvenile Commission was held on Friday, January 26, 2024 at the Washington County Administration Building located at 1 Government Place, Abingdon, Virginia.

Commission members present:

James C. Lane (Chairman, Norton) Neal Osborne – City of Bristol Shawn Utt – Smyth County April Collins – Dickenson County Arlene Matney – Tazewell County Brad Johnson - Buchanan County Jason Berry – Washington County

Commission members absent:

Dawn Gilbert – Wise County Vicki Porter – Russell County Allen Crockett – Lee County Mark Thompson – Scott County

Staff present included Trey Murray, Executive Director, Danny Johnson, Finance Director, Brad Stallard, Attorney, Mary Cross and Jeremy Hurley.

Call to Order

James C. Lane, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 10:07 A.M.

Appointment of New member (City of Bristol)

Mr. Murray reported Mr. Neal Osborne was appointed as the newest member and will be representing the City of Bristol.

Approval of Minutes

Shawn Utt moved to approve the minutes of December 15, 2023. April Collins seconded the motion.

After consideration the motion PASSED by the following vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Shawn Utt, April Collins, Arlene Matney and Brad Johnson

Nayes: None

Abstain: Jason Berry, Neal Osborne

Financial Statement

Arlene Matney moved to approve the July 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023 Financial Statement. Shawn Utt seconded the motion.

After consideration the motion PASSED by the following roll call vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Shawn Utt, April Collins, Arlene Matney, Brad Johnson Jason Berry and Neal Osborne

Nayes: None

Abstain: None

Update on contracts, non-member localities, and DJJ programs

Mr. Murray presented the Commission with the following updates:

- Verizon account review and reduction of expenditures.
- HVAC contract review and reduction of expenditures.
- Part-time staffing review and reduction of expenditures.
- Sullivan County Board of Supervisors has sent our Secure Detention agreement to the District Attorney for review.
- DJJ Programs
 - CAP (Central Admission and Placement) has been approved and signed.
 - CPP (Community Placement Programs) has been approved and signed.

SB 438 Juvenile Detention Home Commissions; Membership

SB 438 would require all members and alternate members to have a background in law enforcement and/or corrections. The passage of this bill would violate the local agreements with our member localities with respect to their authority to appoint representatives to the AJC.

After discussion, April Collins moved to request and authorize Jason Berry to email Senator Pittman opposing SB 438. Shawn Utt seconded the motion.

After consideration the motion PASSED by the following vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Shawn Utt, April Collins, Arlene Matney, Brad Johnson, Jason Berry, and Neal Osborne.

Nayes: None

Abstain: None

HB 1438 Enhanced retirement benefits for juvenile detention specialists

The passage of this bill would provide enhanced retirement benefits to direct care detention specialists through the Virginia Retirement System.

After discussion, Jason Berry moved to submit letter in strong support of HB 1438 to Delegate Bill Wiley. Shawn Utt seconded the motion. (See Attachment)

After consideration the motion PASSED by the following vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Shawn Utt, April Collins, Arlene Matney, Brad Johnson, Jason Berry, and Neal Osborne.

Nayes: None

Abstain: None

Update on AJC Bylaws revision

Tabled until next meeting

Open to Commission Members

Jason Berry moved to hire the law firm of Penn Stuart on retainer at a rate of \$225.00 per hour for attorney and \$120.00 per hour for paralegal. Shawn Utt seconded the vote.

After consideration the motion PASSED by the following roll call vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Shawn Utt, April Collins, Arlene Matney, Brad Johnson, Jason Berry, and Neal Osborne.

Nayes: None

Abstain: None

Closed Session

Shawn Utt moved to enter closed session under Code of Virginia Section 2.2-3711(a)(1)(7)Personnel and Grievance Matters; Neal Osborne seconded the motion.

After consideration, the motion PASSED by the following roll call vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Shawn Utt, April Collins, Brad Thompson, Arlene Matney, Jason Berry, and Neal Osborne

NAYS: None.

ABSTAINERS: None

ABSENT: Vickie Porter, Dawn Gilbert, Mark Thompson, and Allen Crockett

RESOLUTION **CERTIFICATION OF CLOSED SESSION**

WHEREAS, the Appalachian Juvenile Commission has convened in a closed session on this date pursuant to an affirmative recorded vote and in accordance with the provisions of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act; and

WHEREAS, Section 2.2-3712 of the Code of Virginia requires a certification by the Appalachian Juvenile Commission that such a meeting was conducted in conformity with Virginia law;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Appalachian Juvenile Commission hereby certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements by Virginia law were discussed in the closed meeting to which this certification resolution applies, and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion convening the closed session were heard, discussed, or considered by the Appalachian Juvenile Commission.

James C. Lane, April Collins, Arlene Matney, Neal Osborne and Brad AYES: Johnson

NAYS: None.

ABSTAINERS: None.

Vickie Porter, Dawn Gilbert, Mark Thompson, Allen Crockett, Shawn Utt, ABSENT: And Jason Berry

While in closed session, Shawn Utt left the meeting at 11:30 and Jason Berry was not present for any part of the closed session. As a result, a quorum was not present for a vote to leave closed session.

The next regular meeting will be February 23, 2024 at 10:00 A.M.

Adjourn With no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned.

me C. Jan 02./23/2024 Date Jame C. Lane

Fred R. Murrav III **Executive Director**

Date

-Chair