APPALACHIAN JUVENILE COMMISSION P.O. BOX 16248

BRISTOL, VIRGINIA 24209

Phone 276-466-7800 ● Fax 276-466-7820 WEB — www.hjdc.org

November 17, 2023

The called meeting of the Appalachian Juvenile Commission was held on Friday, November 17, 2023 at 9:00 A.M. at the Washington County Administration Building located at 1 Government Place, Abingdon, Virginia.

Commission members present:

Commission members absent:

James Lane Chairman, City of Norton Jason Berry – Washington County Sonny Brooks – Lee County April Collins – Dickenson County Dawn Gilbert – Wise County Brad Johnson – Buchanan County Arlene Matney – Tazewell County Vicki Porter – Russell County Mark Thompson – Scott County

Anthony Farnum – City of Bristol Shawn Utt – Smyth County

Staff present: Danny Johnson – Finance Director.

Call to Order

James Lane, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 9:00 A.M.

Closed Session

Sonny Brooks made a motion to enter into closed session under Code of Virginia Section 2.2-3711(a)(1) Personnel Matters Interviews for Executive Director; Vicki Porter seconded the motion.

After consideration, the motion PASSED by the following vote:

AYES:

James Lane, Jason Berry, Sonny Brooks, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Brad

Johnson, Arlene Matney, Vicki Porter and Mark Thompson.

NAYS:

None.

ABSTAINERS: None

ABSENT:

Anthony Farnum, Shawn Utt

RESOLUTION CERTIFICATION OF CLOSED SESSION

WHEREAS, the Appalachian Juvenile Commission has convened in a closed session on this date pursuant to an affirmative recorded vote and in accordance with the provisions of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act; and

WHEREAS, Section 2.2-3712 of the Code of Virginia requires a certification by the Appalachian Juvenile Commission that such a meeting was conducted in conformity with Virginia law;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Appalachian Juvenile Commission hereby certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements by Virginia law were discussed in the closed meeting to which this certification resolution applies, and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion convening the closed session were heard, discussed or considered by the Appalachian Juvenile Commission.

Return to Open Session

Jason Berry made a motion to return to open session; April Collins seconded the motion.

After consideration, the motion PASSED by the following voice vote:

AYES:

James Lane, Jason Berry, Sonny Brooks, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Brad

Johnson, Arlene Matney and Vicki Porter.

NAYS:

None.

ABSTAINERS: None.

ABSENT:

Anthony Farnum, Shawn Utt, Mark Thompson left at 12.15

Certification that only Personnel Matters were Discussed

AYES:

James Lane, Jason Berry, Sonny Brooks, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Brad

Johnson, Arlene Matney and Vicki Porter.

NAYS:

None.

ABSTAINERS: None.

ABSENT:

Anthony Farnum, Shawn Utt, Mark Thompson left at 12:15.

Open Session Action

1. April Collins made a motion to make a \$500 payment to Full Time Employees and a \$250 payment to Part Time Employees; Dawn Gilbert seconded the motion.

After consideration, the motion PASSED by the following voice vote:

AYES:

James Lane, Jason Berry, Sonny Brooks, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Brad

Johnson, Arlene Matney and Vicki Porter.

NAYS:

None.

ABSTAINERS: None.

ABSENT:

Anthony Farnum, Shawn Utt, Mark Thompson left at 12:15.

2. April Collins made a motion to hire Fred R. (Trey) Murray III as the Executive Director at a salary of \$99,000 effective November 17, 2023; Vicki Porter seconded the motion.

After consideration, the motion PASSED by the following voice vote:

AYES:

James Lane, Jason Berry, Sonny Brooks, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Brad

Johnson, Arlene Matney and Vicki Porter.

NAYS:

None.

ABSTAINERS: None.

ABSENT:

Anthony Farnum, Shawn Utt, Mark Thompson left at 12:15.

3. Sonny Brooks made a motion to hire Jeremy Hurley as the Deputy Director at a salary of \$89,000 effective November 17, 2023; Jason Berry seconded the motion.

After consideration, the motion PASSED by the following voice vote:

AYES:

James Lane, Jason Berry, Sonny Brooks, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Brad

Johnson, Arlene Matney and Vicki Porter.

NAYS:

None.

ABSTAINERS: None.

ABSENT:

Anthony Farnum, Shawn Utt, Mark Thompson left at 12:15.

Next Meeting

James Lane, Chairman, stated the next meeting will be at 10:00 A.M. on December 15, 2023 at the Washington County Administration Building.

Jason Berry made a motion to adjourn the meeting at approximately 1:30; April Collins seconded the motion.

After consideration, the motion PASSED by the following voice vote:

AYES:

James Lane, Jason Berry, Sonny Brooks, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Brad

Johnson, Arlene Matney and Vicki Porter.

NAYS:

None.

ABSTAINERS: None.

ABSENT:

Anthony Farnum, Shawn Utt, Mark Thompson left at 12:15.

<u>Adjourn</u>

With no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned.

Chairman

Trev Murray

Executive Director