## APPALACHIAN JUVENILE COMMISSION

P.O. BOX 16248 BRISTOL, VIRGINIA 24209

Phone 276-466-7800 • Fax 276-466-7820 WEB - hjdc.org

## December 18, 2014

The regular meeting of the Appalachian Juvenile Commission was held on Thursday, December 18, 2014 at 11:00 A.M., at the Washington County Administration Building located at 1 Government Place, Abingdon, Virginia.

Commission members present included—Wayne McClelland, Chairman - Scott County; Kate McClanahan - Buchanan County; Lanny Large - Dickenson County; Vicki Porter - Russell County; Patricia Green - Tazewell County; Mike Carter - Smyth County; Catherine Brillhart - Bristol; and James Lane - Norton.

Commission members absent were Doug Meade – Washington County; Dawn Gilbert – Wise County; C.M. Callahan, Jr. – Lee County.

Staff present included Tim Dotson – Executive Director, Danny Johnson – Finance Director, Trey Murray, Jeremy Hurley, Wanda Akers, and Jim Moore.

Approval of Minutes

Catherine Brillhart moved to approve the minutes of September 19, 2014 with changes on pages 1 paragraph 3 member to members and page 2 paragraph 6 varies to various. Vickie Porter seconded the motion. All members voted in favor.

Financial Report

Danny Johnson presented the financial report through November 30, 2014. James Lane moved to approve the Financial Report as presented. Vickie Porter seconded the motion. All members voted in favor.

State Budget Cuts

Tim Dotson, Executive Director reported the state Aid to Localities for Community Based Services that the Alternative Program uses has been cut. Mr. Dotson also reported he would check with each locality about how they want to handle the reduction to the Community Block Grant monies.

Staff Retirement

Mr. Dotson introduced Wanda Akers who would be retiring on December 31, 2014. Ms. Akers has been employed with the Appalachian Juvenile Commission since February 1988. Ms. Akers was applauded by all members on her dedicated service.

Budget

Mr. Dotson presented the FY16 Budget. After discussion, Mike Carter moved to approve the FY16 budget as presented in the amount of \$3,937,800.00. Catherine Brillhart seconded the motion. All members voted in favor.

Open to Commission Members

The next Commission Meeting will be March 20, 2015.

Adjourn

With no further business to discuss, Chairman Wayne McClelland adjourned the meeting.

Tim Dotson

Executive Director

Wayne McClelland

Chairman