APPALACHIAN JUVENILE COMMISSION

P.O. BOX 16248 BRISTOL, VIRGINIA 24209

Phone 276-466-7808 • Fax 276-466-7820 WEB - hjdc.org

December 20, 2013

The regular meeting of the Appalachian Juvenile Commission was held on Friday, December 20, 2013 at 11:00 A.M., at the Washington County Administrative Building, located at 1 Government Center Plaza, Abingdon, VA.

Commission members present included – Wayne McClelland, Chairman – Scott County; Vickie Porter – Russell County; Doug Meade – Washington County, Catherine Brillhart – Bristol; James Lane – Norton; C.M. Callahan – Lee County; Michael Carter – Smyth County; Kate McClanahan – Buchanan County.

Commission Members absent – Dawn Gilbert – Wise County; Patricia Green – Tazewell County; Lanny Large – Dickenson County.

Staff present – Tim Dotson - Executive Director; Trey Murray – Director Secure Detention; Jeremy Hurley – Staff Supervisor; Jim Moore – Supervisor of Building and Grounds; David Hicks – Supervisor.

Wayne McClelland started the meeting by wishing everyone a Merry Christmas.

Approval of Minutes

Catherine Brillhart moved to approve the minutes of September 20, 2013. James Lane seconded the motion. All members voted in favor.

Financial Report

Michael Carter moved to approve the financial report. Kate McClanahan seconded the motion. All members voted in favor.

Budget

After much discussion, it was decided to vote on the budget and salary increases separately. Michael Carter moved to approve the budget presented minus any salary increases included. Catherine Brillhart seconded the motion. All members voted in favor.

Again after much discussion from each of the Commission members, Michael Carter moved to have no salary increases. Kate McClanahan seconded the motion. A majority voted in favor.

Re-Entry Program/Placement Program

Tim Dotson discussed the pros and cons of these two programs. He stated the Department of Juvenile Justice is seeking Request for Proposals from local detention facilities to provide these services. James Lane moved that the Appalachian Juvenile Commission not submit a RFP for the Alternative Placement Program. Kate McClanahan seconded the motion. All members voted in favor.

Doug Meade moved the Commission not submit a RFP for the Re-Entry Program. Catherine Brillhart seconded the motion. All members voted in favor.

New Commission Member

Wayne McClelland welcomed Vicki Porter as a new Commission member representing Russell County.

Vice Chair

Kate McClanahan nominated James Lane as Vice-Chairman of the Appalachian Juvenile Commission. Doug Meade seconded the nomination. All members voted in favor.

The next meeting is scheduled for the third Friday in March, 2014.

Adjourn

With no further business to discuss, Wayne McClelland adjourned the meeting.

Tim Dotson Executive Director

Wayne McClelland Chairman