# APPALACHIAN JUVENILE COMMISSION P.O. BOX 16248 BRISTOL, VIRGINIA 24209

Phone 276-466-7800 • Fax 276-466-7820 WEB - www.hjdc.org

### December 15, 2023

The regular meeting of the Appalachian Juvenile Commission was held on Friday, December 15, 2023 at 10:00 A.M. at the Washington County Administration Building located at 1 Government Place, Abingdon, Virginia.

### **Commission members present:**

James C. Lane (Chairman, Norton) Dawn Gilbert – Wise County Shawn Utt – Smyth County April Collins – Dickenson County Arlene Matney – Tazewell County Vicki Porter – Russell County Brad Johnson, Buchanan County Mark Thompson – Scott County

### **Commission members absent:**

Jason Berry – Washington County Anthony Farnum – City of Bristol Allen Crockett – Lee County

Staff present included Trey Murray – Executive Director, Danny Johnson – Finance Director, Mary Cross and Jeremy Hurley.

#### Call to Order

James C. Lane, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 10:03 A.M.

### Appointment of New member (Lee County)

Mr. Murray reported Sonny Brooks's term expired on November 30, 2023 and Mr. Allen Crockett was appointed as the newest member and will be representing Lee County.

### Election of Officers

Vickie Porter nominated James C. Lane as Chair. Shawn Utt seconded the motion. Shawn Utt moved to close nominations. Dawn Gilbert seconded the motion.

After consideration the motion PASSED by the following roll call vote:

AYES: Shawn Utt, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Brad Johnson, Arlene Matney, Vickie

Porter and Mark Thompson.

Nayes: None

Abstain: James C. Lane

Arlene Matney nominated Shawn Utt as Vice Chairman. Vickie Porter seconded the motion. Dawn Gilbert moved to close nominations. April Collins seconded the motion.

After consideration the motion PASSED by the following roll call vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Brad Johnson, Arlene Matney,

Vickie Porter and Mark Thompson.

Nayes: None

Abstain: Shawn Utt

## **Approval of Minutes**

Shawn Utt moved to approve the minutes of October 13, 2023 and November 17, 2023. April Collins seconded the motion.

After consideration the motion PASSED by the following roll call vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Shawn Utt, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Brad Johnson, Arlene

Matney, Vickie Porter and Mark Thompson.

Nayes: None Abstain: None

### Update on non-member localities and DJJ

Mr. Murray presented the Commission with the following updates:

- Sullivan County was scheduled to vote on the potential utilization of HJDC to assist in their detention need on December 14<sup>th</sup>, 2023. As of this meeting, we had not yet been made aware of the results of the vote.
- Have entered into verbal agreements with Portsmouth and Roanoke to assist in their detention needs.
- We are exploring an agreement with DJJ to potentially add CAP and CPP programs for committed residents, which will potentially keep our committed residents in Bristol. Currently, we have two residents eligible
  - a. Per diem for a committed resident is \$50.00
  - b. Per diem for a CAP resident is \$200.00
  - c. Per diem for a CPP resident is \$300.00

#### **Budget Proposal**

After discussion, Mark Thompson moved to approve the FY2025 Budget. April Collins seconded the motion.

After consideration the motion PASSED by the following roll call vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Shawn Utt, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Brad Johnson, Arlene

Matney, Vickie Porter and Mark Thompson.

Nayes: None Abstain: None

#### **Closed Session**

Shawn Utt made a motion to enter into closed session under Code of Virginia Section 2.2-3711(a)(1) Personnel and Grievance Matters; Mark Thompson seconded the motion.

After consideration, the motion PASSED by the following roll call vote:

AYES:

James C. Lane, Shawn Utt, Dawn Gilbert, April Collins, Vickie Porter,

Brad Thompson, Mark Thompson, and Arlene Matney.

NAYS:

None.

ABSTAINERS: None

ABSENT:

Jason Berry, Anthony Farnum, Allen Crockett

## RESOLUTION CERTIFICATION OF CLOSED SESSION

WHEREAS, the Appalachian Juvenile Commission has convened in a closed session on this date pursuant to an affirmative recorded vote and in accordance with the provisions of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act; and

WHEREAS, Section 2.2-3712 of the Code of Virginia requires a certification by the Appalachian Juvenile Commission that such a meeting was conducted in conformity with Virginia law;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Appalachian Juvenile Commission hereby certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements by Virginia law were discussed in the closed meeting to which this certification resolution applies, and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion convening the closed session were heard, discussed or considered by the Appalachian Juvenile Commission.

Mark Thompson moved to come out of closed session. Shawn Utt seconded the motion.

After consideration, the motion PASSED by the following roll call vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Shawn Utt, Dawn Gilbert, April Collins, Vickie Porter, Brad Johnson, Mark Thompson and Arlene Matney.

NAYS:

None.

ABSTAINERS: None.

ABSENT: Jason Berry, Anthoney Farnum and Allen Crockett.

April Collins moved to have our Attorney; Brad Stallard present at the January 19, 2024 meeting. Vickie Porter seconded the motion.

After consideration, the motion passed by the following roll call vote:

AYES:

James C. Lane, Shawn Utt, Dawn Gilbert, April Collins, Vickie Porter,

Brad Johnson, Mark Thompson, and Arlene Matney.

NAYS:

None.

ABSTAINERS: None.

ABSENT:

Jason Berry, Anthony Farnum and Allen Crockett

Chairman James C. Lane appointed Dawn Gilbert and Vickie Porter to the By-law Committee to review all the by-laws and Trey Murray to assist as needed.

The next regular meeting will be January 19, 2024 at 10:00 A.M.

### Adjourn

With no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned.

James C. Lane

Chairman

Fred R. Murray

**Executive Director**