APPALACHIAN JUVENILE COMMISSION P.O. BOX 16248 BRISTOL, VIRGINIA 24209

Phone 276-466-7800 • *Fax* 276-466-7820 *WEB – hjdc.org*

December 6, 2024

The Appalachian Juvenile Commission's regular meeting was held on Friday, December 6, 2024, at the Washington County Administration Building, 1 Government Place, Abingdon, Virginia.

Commission members present:

James C. Lane (Chairman, Norton) Rhonda Lester – Russell County April Collins – Dickenson County Dawn Gilbert – Wise County Arlene Matney – Tazewell County Mark Thompson – Scott County Shawn Utt – Smyth County Jason Berry – Washington County Allen Crockett – Lee County

Commission members absent:

Neal Osborne – City of Bristol Brad Johnson – Buchanan County

Staff present included Trey Murray, Executive Director, Danny Johnson, Finance Director, and Mary Cross.

Call to Order

James C. Lane, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 10:05 A.M.

Election of Officers

Dawn Gilbert nominated James C. Lane as Chair. Shawn Utt seconded the motion. Shawn Utt moved to close nominations. April Collins seconded the motion.

After consideration, the motion PASSED by the following roll call vote:

AYES: Rhonda Lester, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Arlene Matney, Mark Thompson, Shawn Utt, Jason Berry, and Allen Crockett. Nayes: None Abstain: James C. Lane

Jason Berry nominated Shawn Utt as Vice Chairman. Arlene Matney seconded the motion. Dawn Gilbert moved to close nominations. April Collins seconded the motion.

After consideration, the motion PASSED by the following roll call vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Rhonda Lester, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Arlene Matney, Mark Thompson, Jason Berry, and Allen Crockett. Nayes: None Abstain: Shawn Utt

<u>Approval of Minutes</u>

April Collins moved to approve the minutes of September 20, 2024. Mark Thompson seconded the motion.

After consideration, the motion PASSED by the following vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Rhonda Lester, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Arlene Matney, Mark Thompson, Shawn Utt, Jason Berry, and Allen Crockett. *Nayes: None* Abstain: None

Financial Statement

Arlene Matney moved to approve the July 1, 2024, to October 31, 2024, Financial Statement, and Jason Berry seconded the motion.

The motion PASSED by the following roll call vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Rhonda Lester, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Arlene Matney, Mark Thompson, Shawn Utt, Jason Berry, and Allen Crockett. *Nayes: None* Abstain: None

Updates

Mr. Murray provided updates concerning the Merit Base Pay Policy and Personnel Handbook, which Sesco Management Consultants are updating. The handbook should be completed and presented at the next Commission meeting.

After discussion, Jason Berry moved to update the 457 Deferral Compensation Plan Trustees to James C. Lane and Fred R. (Trey) Murray. Shawn Utt seconded the motion.

The motion PASSED by the following roll call vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Rhonda Lester, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Arlene Matney, Mark Thompson, Shawn Utt, Jason Berry, and Allen Crockett. *Nayes: None* Abstain: None

Mr. Murray also gave an update on staffing and utilization at the Detention Center.

Budget Proposal and Approval

After discussion, April Collins moved to approve the FY2026 Budget as proposed, with an amendment to salaries reflecting a 3% COLA. Mark Thompson seconded the motion.

The motion PASSED by the following roll call vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Rhonda Lester, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Arlene Matney, Mark Thompson, Shawn Utt, Jason Berry, and Allen Crockett. *Nayes: None* Abstain: None

Closed Session

Mark Thompson moved to enter into closed session under Code of Virginia Section 2.2-3711(a)(1)(7) Personnel and Grievance Matters; Jason Berry seconded the motion.

After consideration, the motion PASSED by the following vote:

AYES: AYES: James C. Lane, Rhonda Lester, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Arlene Matney, Mark Thompson, Shawn Utt, Jason Berry, and Allen Crockett. *Nayes: None* Abstain: None

RESOLUTION CERTIFICATION OF CLOSED SESSION

WHEREAS, the Appalachian Juvenile Commission has convened in a closed session on this date pursuant to an affirmative recorded vote and in accordance with the provisions of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act; and

WHEREAS, Section 2.2-3712 of the Code of Virginia requires a certification by the Appalachian Juvenile Commission that such a meeting was conducted in conformity with Virginia law;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Appalachian Juvenile Commission hereby certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements by Virginia law were discussed in the closed meeting to which this certification resolution applies, and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion convening the closed session were heard, discussed or considered by the Appalachian Juvenile Commission.

AYES: AYES: James C. Lane, Rhonda Lester, April Collins, Dawn Gilbert, Arlene Matney, Mark Thompson, Shawn Utt, Jason Berry, and Allen Crockett. *Nayes: None Abstain: None* <u>Open to Commission Members/Public</u> Mark Thompson asked for an update on the Shelter Care Facility.

Mr. Lane requested a group picture of all Commission Members at the next meeting.

The next meeting will be March 21, 2025.

Adjourn

With no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned.

mer C/lan 03/21/2 -2025 James C. Lane Fred R. Murray Chairman Executive Director