APPALACHIAN JUVENILE COMMISSION

P.O. BOX 16248 BRISTOL, VIRGINIA 24209

Phone 276-466-7808 • Fax 276-466-7820 WEB - hjdc.org

March 21, 2014

The regular meeting of the Appalachian Juvenile Commission was held on Friday, March 21, 2014 at 11:00 A.M., at the Washington County Government Center located at 1 Government Center Place, in Abingdon, Virginia.

Commission members present included– Wayne McClelland, Chairman - Scott County; Kate McClanahan – Buchanan County; Dawn Gilbert – Wise County; Lanny Large – Dickenson County; Patricia Green – Tazewell County; Mike Carter – Smyth County; Catherine Brillhart – Bristol; and James Lane – Norton.

Commission member absent were Doug Meade – Washington County; C.M. Callahan, Jr. – Lee County; and Vicki Porter – Russell County.

Staff present included Tim Dotson – Executive Director, Trey Murray – Director of Secure Detention, Danny Johnson – Finance Director, and Jeremy Hurley.

Approval of Minutes

James Lane moved to approve the minutes of December 20, 2013. Catherine Brillhart seconded the motion. All members voted in favor.

Financial Report

Danny Johnson presented the financial report through February 28, 2014. (See attached) Mike Carter moved to approve the Financial Report as presented. Lanny Large seconded the motion. All members voted in favor.

Re-name "Pod C"

After discussion, Lanny Large moved to re-name Pod C 'Richard Hagy'. Dawn Gilbert seconded the motion. All members voted in favor.

Finances

Mr. Dotson reported that the Virginia General Assembly has not passed their budget as of this date. At the last Director's meeting Mr. Dotson attended, it was discussed that a COLA was presently in the budget for the Block Grant which could result in an increase of \$50,000.00.

Mental Health Youth

Mr. Dotson report that since the closing of the Southwestern State Youth Center, the Detention Center is seeing more youth at the facility with mental health issues and staff is learning how best to deal with them.

PREA

Mr. Dotson gave an update on the federal law the Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA) and how it will impact the Detention center.

Open to Commission Members

The next Commission Meeting will be June 20, 2014.

Adjourn

With no further business to discuss, Chairman Wayne McClelland adjourned the meeting.

(fim Dotson Executive Director

Wayne McClelland Chairman