# APPALACHIAN JUVENILE COMMISSION

P.O. BOX 16248 BRISTOL, VIRGINIA 24209

*Phone* 276-466-7800 • *Fax* 276-466-7820 *WEB – hjdc.org* 

June 21, 2024

The regular meeting of the Appalachian Juvenile Commission was held on Friday, June 21, 2024, at the Washington County Administration Building located at 1 Government Place, Abingdon, Virginia.

Commission members present:
James C. Lane (Chairman, Norton)
Rhonda Lester – Russell County
Arlene Matney – Tazewell County
Dawn Gilbert – Wise County
Brad Johnson – Buchanan County
Mark Thompson – Scott County
Shawn Utt – Smyth County
Jason Berry – Washington County

Commission members absent: Allen Crockett – Lee County April Collins – Dickenson County Neal Osborne – City of Bristol

Staff present included Trey Murray, Executive Director, Danny Johnson, Finance Director, Brad Stallard, Attorney, Jeremy Hurley, Deputy Director, and Mary Cross.

#### Call to Order

James C. Lane, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 10:05 A.M.

# Approval of Minutes

Dawn Gilbert moved to approve the minutes of April 19, 2024. Arlene Matney seconded the motion.

After consideration, the motion PASSED by the following vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Shawn Utt, Arlene Matney, Dawn Gilbert, Rhonda Lester, Brad Johnson, Jason Berry and Mark Thompson.

Nayes: None Abstain: None

### Financial Statement

Shawn Utt moved to approve the May 31, 2024 Financial Statement. Mark Thompson seconded the motion.

After consideration, the motion PASSED by the following vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Shawn Utt, Arlene Matney, Dawn Gilbert, Rhonda Lester, Brad Johnson, Jason Berry and Mark Thompson.

Nayes: None Abstain: None

### Updates

Mr. Murray provided updates on the Alternative /VJCCCA meeting, Secure Detention Grant, Block Grant, Community Outreach Programs for Secure Detention, and January through May Detention Utilization.

#### Governor Youngkin

Mr. Murray informed the board Governor Youngkin vetoed the minimum wage increase scheduled for January 1, 2025. The \$1.50 per hour wage increase was included in the FY2025 Budget. No action was taken on this.

#### **Closed Session**

Shawn Utt moved to enter into closed session under Code of Virginia Section 2.2-3711(a)(1)(7) Personnel and Grievance Matters; Jason Berry seconded the motion.

After consideration, the motion PASSED by the following vote:

AYES: James C. Lane, Allen Crockett, Arlene Matney, Dawn Gilbert, Rhonda Lester,

Brad Johnson, Jason Berry and Mark Thompson.

Nayes: None Abstain: None

## RESOLUTION ČERTIFICATION OF CLOSED SESSION

WHEREAS, the Appalachian Juvenile Commission has convened in a closed session on this date pursuant to an affirmative recorded vote and in accordance with the provisions of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act; and

WHEREAS, Section 2.2-3712 of the Code of Virginia requires a certification by the Appalachian Juvenile Commission that such a meeting was conducted in conformity with Virginia law;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Appalachian Juvenile Commission hereby certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements by Virginia law were discussed in the closed meeting to which this certification resolution applies, and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion convening the closed session were heard, discussed or considered by the Appalachian Juvenile Commission.

AYES: James C. Lane, Allen Crockett, Arlene Matney, Dawn Gilbert, Rhonda Lester, Brad Johnson, Jason Berry and Mark Thompson.

Nayes: None Abstain: None

Open to Commission Members

The next regular meeting will be held on September 20, 2024.

Adjourn

With no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned.

James C. Lane C. Jan 09/20/2004X

Chairman

Fred R. Murray

**Executive Director**