APPALACHIAN JUVENILE COMMISSION

P.O. BOX 16248 BRISTOL, VIRGINIA 24209

Phone 276-466-7808 • Fax 276-466-7820 WEB - hjdc.org

July 10, 2013

A called meeting of the Appalachian Juvenile Commission was held on Wednesday, July 10, 2013 at 11:00 A.M., at the Washington County Administrative Building, located at 1 Government Center Place, Abingdon, VA.

Commission members present included – Wayne McClelland, Chairman – Scott County; Alice Meade, Vice-Chairman – Russell County; Patricia Green – Tazewell County; Lanny Large – Dickenson County; Catherine Brillhart – Bristol; Doug Meade – Washington County; Michael Carter – Smyth County; Kate McClanahan – Buchanan County; James Lane – Norton; C.M. Callahan – Lee County.

Commission member absent – Dawn Gilbert – Wise County

Staff present - Tim Dotson - Executive Director

Wayne McClelland called the meeting to order. Michael Carter made a motion pursuant to Code of Virginia Section 2.2-3711 to go into Closed Session for discussion of personnel matters. Alice Meade seconded the motion and all members voted in favor of the motion.

Open Meeting

WHEREAS, the Appalachian Juvenile Commission has convened a closed meeting on this date pursuant to an affirmative record vote and in accordance with the provisions of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act; and

WHEREAS, Title 2.2-3711 of the Code of Virginia requires a certificate by this Commission that such closed meeting was conducted in conformity with Virginia law;

NOW THERFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Appalachian Juvenile Commission hereby certifies that to the best of each member's knowledge, (1) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements by Virginia law were discussed in the closed meeting to which this certificate resolution applies, and (2) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion convening the closed meeting were heard, discussed or considered by the Commission. The vote was as follows:

Member	YEA	NAY	ABSTAIN	ABSENT
Wayne McClelland	X			
Alice Meade	X			
Doug Meade	Χ			
Michael Carter	Χ			
Catherine Brillhart	Х			
Dawn Gilbert				X
Kate McClanahan	Χ			
Lanny Large	X			
James Lane	Χ			
C.M. Callahan	Х			
Patricia Green	X			
Total	10	0	0	1

Michael Carter made a motion stating the item of concern was discussed by Commission members and information pertaining to the item will be presented to the Commission members at the next meeting. Alice Meade seconded the motion and all voted in favor.

Lanny Large moved to adjourn the meeting with James Lane seconding the motion. All voted in favor and the meeting was adjourned.

(Tim Dotson

Executive Director

Wayne McClelland

Chairman