APPALACHIAN JUVENILE COMMISSION

P.O. BOX 16248 BRISTOL, VIRGINIA 24209

Phone 276-466-7808 • Fax 276-466-7820 WEB - hjdc.org

July 17, 2009

The Regular Meeting of the Appalachian Juvenile Commission was held on Friday, July 17, 2009, at 12:00 Noon, at the Fast Lane Restaurant located on Lee Highway, Bristol, Virginia.

Commission members present included Wayne McClelland – Scott County; Kate McClanahan – Buchanan County; Patricia Green – Tazewell County; Alice Meade – Russell County; Mike Roberts – Smyth County; Dawn Gilbert – Wise County; Lanny Large – Dickenson County; Doug Meade – Washington County; Jim Heaney – Bristol; and C.M. Callahan, Jr. – Lee County.

Commission member absent was Donna Hutchinson - Norton.

Staff present included Tim Dotson – Executive Director; John Ross – Director of Highlands Branch; Danny Johnson – Finance Director; Jeff Nash – Principal Highlands Juvenile Detention Center; Trey Murray, Mary Cross, David Hicks, and Jeremy Hurley.

Approval of Minutes

The Minutes of the Regular Meeting held on April 24, 2009 were approved as presented.

Financial Report

Danny Johnson, Finance Director, presented the Quarterly Financial Highlights through June 30, 2009. (Copy attached)

Alice Meade moved that the Financial Report be approved as submitted. Lanny Large seconded the motion. All members voted in favor.

Program Reports

Tim Dotson reported Jarred Miller, DJJ VJCCCA Coordinator, conducted a periodic review of the Washington Combined Plan funded through the Virginia Juvenile Community Crime Control Act (VJCCCA). Mr. Miller reported he was impressed with the way all the programs were being operated. (Copy of letter attached)

Locality Reimbursement

Tim Dotson reported that each locality will be sent a check from the Commission for reimbursement for VJCCCA funds in the near future.

Possible Construction

Tim Dotson presented an aerial map of the Detention Center with a highlighted area where possible construction of additional office space could be built. Mr. Dotson stated additional office space was needed for current staff and also for Detention Alternatives to save the cost of rental space being used now.

Lanny Large made a motion for Mr. Dotson to pursue the cost of building additional office space and to report back to the Commission at the next meeting. Dawn Gilbert seconded the motion. All members voted in favor.

Election of Officers

Tim Dotson opened the floor for nominations for Chairman. Alice Meade nominated Wayne McClelland. Lanny Large seconded the motion and moved that nominations be closed. All members voted in favor. Wayne McClelland was elected Chairman by Acclamation.

Wayne McClelland opened the floor for nominations for Vice Chairman. Patricia Green nominated Alice Meade. Lanny Large seconded the motion and moved that nominations be closed. All members voted in favor. Alice Meade was elected Vice Chairman by Acclamation.

Wayne McClelland opened the floor for nomination for Secretary/Treasurer. Lanny Large nominated Tim Dotson as Secretary/Treasurer. Alice Meade seconded the motion and moved that nominations be closed. All members voted in favor. Tim Dotson was elected Secretary/Treasurer by Acclamation.

Open to Commission Members

Tim Dotson recognized John Ross who would be retiring on August 31, 2009 after thirty-three years of service.

Next Meeting

The next regular meeting will be Friday, October 16, 2009.

Adjourn

There being no further business to discuss, Wayne McClelland declared the meeting adjourned at approximately 1:30 P.M.

Tim Dotson, Executive Director

Wayne McClefland, Chairman