# APPALACHIAN JUVENILE COMMISSION

P.O. BOX 16248 BRISTOL, VIRGINIA 24209

Phone 276-466-7808 • Fax 276-466-7820 WEB - hjdc.org

## July 15, 2011

The Regular Meeting of the Appalachian Juvenile Commission was held on Friday, July 15, 2011 at 11:00 A.M., at the Holiday Inn located on Linden Drive, in Bristol Virginia.

Commission members present included Wayne McClelland, Chairman – Scott County; Alice Meade, Vice-Chairman – Russell County; Jim Heaney – Bristol; Patricia Green – Tazewell County; Doug Meade – Washington County; Kate McClanahan – Buchanan County; and C.M. Callahan, Jr. – Lee County.

Commission member absent was Lanny Large – Dickenson County; Mike Carter – Smyth County; Dawn Gilbert – Wise County; and Kyle Redman – City of Norton.

Staff present included Tim Dotson – Executive Director, Trey Murray – Director of Secure Detention, and Danny Johnson – Finance Director.

## Approval of Minutes

Alice Meade moved to approve the minutes of the Regular Meeting held on April 15, 2011 and Special Called Meeting held on May 6, 2011. Kate McClanahan seconded the motion. All members voted in favor.

#### Financial Report

Danny Johnson, Finance Director, presented the Quarterly Financial Highlights through June 30, 2011. (Copy attached)

Patricia Green moved to approve the Financial Report as presented. Doug Meade seconded the motion. All members voted in favor.

### **Election of Officers**

Tim Dotson opened the floor for nominations for Chairman. Alice Meade nominated Wayne McClelland. Doug Meade seconded the motion and moved that nominations be closed. All members voted in favor. Wayne McClelland was elected Chairman by Acclamation.

Wayne McClelland opened the floor for nominations for Vice Chairman. Patricia Green nominated Alice Meade. Kate McClanahan seconded the motion and moved that

nominations be closed. All members voted in favor. Alice Meade was elected Vice Chairman by Acclamation.

Wayne McClelland opened the floor for nomination for Secretary/Treasurer. Doug Meade nominated Tim Dotson as Secretary/Treasurer. Alice Meade seconded the motion and moved that nominations be closed. All members voted in favor. Tim Dotson was elected Secretary/Treasurer by Acclamation.

## Adjourn

There being no further business to discuss, Alice Meade moved to adjourn the meeting. Patricia Green seconded the motion. All members were in favor

Tim Dotson

Executive Director

Wayne McClelland

Chairman /